Affordable & Skilled Legal Representation Get Started with a Free Consultation

DUI Attorneys in Miami Florida

Lawyers that Fight for You

Drunk driving in South Florida can be an embarrassing and serious change. Our Miami defense lawyers can help turn the DUI wrong around. For many people, being stopped on suspicion of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs will be their only run-in with the law. The State of Florida - like every other state in the country - mandates that anyone operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content of .08 percent or more can be arrested for DUI. There's no surefire way to know what your blood alcohol content is when you're out to dinner with friends or having a drink with coworkers. For some it can mean several alcoholic beverages - for others, it's a single glass of wine consumed on an empty stomach.

In Miami, Fort Lauderdale, and other South Florida municipalities, authorities take an aggressive stance toward stopping drunk drivers. If you're stopped, you'll likely be asked to perform a roadside sobriety test or submit to a chemical test, such as a breathalyzer, to determine your blood alcohol content. If you're arrested, state law requires that your license be suspended for at least six months (though you may apply for a hardship license within 10 days of your arrest, which will retain driving privileges to and from work, school, and essential errands). By virtue of you holding a Florida driver's license, you've agreed to submit to a chemical blood alcohol content test like a breathalyzer, blood test, or, in rare cases, a urine sample. Refusing to participate in such a test will result in the automatic suspension of your driver's license for a year. The decision to take a test like this is individual, but refusing can sometimes defense strategy.

If you've been arrested for DUI, contacting an attorney whose well-versed in Florida's complicated DUI laws is your best chance of beating a conviction. At Rier Jordan P.A., our team of lawyers and paralegals will examine the details of your case, question its weaknesses, and help protect your right to drive. Initial consultations are always free, so call us today. We can help you put the embarrassment of a DUI arrest behind you.

Learn More About DUI Defense and How Our Lawyers Can Help:

  • DUI Defense

  • Boating Under the Influence (BUI)

  • DUI Penalties

  • DMV Process (DHSMV)

  • Field Sobriety Tests

  • Blood Tests

  • DUI Accidents

  • Federal DUI Charges

  • Common Questions about DUI

  • Vehicular Manslaughter

Regain Control of Your Situation

Reach Out to Us for Help

Our Goal Is a Strong Defense for You

Drunk driving can be a serious violation. The laws are clear - if you drive with a blood alcohol concentration of more than .08 percent, you can be arrested and charged with a DUI. Just because you've been charged, however, doesn't mean that you're guilty.

Many DUI arrests in Florida come as the result of a failed roadside sobriety test. These tests, which are conducted by police officers with a diverse degree of training and evaluation skills, are highly unreliable indicators of an individual's sobriety. Even perfectly sober people can wobble, be confused, or fail to be able to touch a finger to a nose while balancing on one foot or walk heal-to-toe along a straight line on the side of a road. Interestingly, there is no legal obligation in the state of Florida for you to submit to a roadside sobriety test.

Breathalyzers and other chemical evaluators of a person's blood alcohol content are another common part of the evidence in a DUI case. This equipment must be carefully calibrated and regularly maintained - and its operator properly trained in its use - in order for it to provide reliable evidence in DUI cases. As a licensed Florida driver, you are obligated to submit to a chemical test of your blood alcohol content - and refusing to do so will result in a loss of your driving rights for a year. If you suspect that your blood alcohol level is more than .08 percent, refusing a test may provide an advantage in your defense. Without a chemical test, there will be no definitive proof of your blood alcohol level. Sometimes, however, refusing to take the breathalyzer test can hamper your defense since you are legally obligated to submit to such testing when you accept a Florida driver's license, so you should weigh the situation carefully before making your decision to take such a test.

Rier Jordan and his team are prepared to examine other factors, like the driver's medical history, when establishing a defense in a DUI case. Sometimes when a driver is simply tired or has an illness or condition that may indicate drunkenness even when the driver is perfectly sober. In addition to building a strong defense from the specific details of your arrest, Rier Jordan and his team can help you navigate the associated rules and regulations of a DUI arrest. The Florida Department of Motor Vehicles has guidelines and timeframes for applying for hardship licenses - and a very short amount of time in which you're able to do this.

There's no risk in calling Rier Jordan to discuss your DUI case - all initial consultations are free. Call us to see how Rier Jordan and his team can help you.